Special Forces

Valley Forge Area DUI Task Force

The Collegeville Police Department is a member the Valley Forge Area DUI Task Force. In addition to Collegeville the Task Force is comprised of Police Departments from West Norriton, Lower Providence, Upper Merion, and Plymouth Townships, and from Bridgeport and Norristown Boroughs. Team members conduct "Roving Patrols" in their own jurisdiction and DUI Checkpoints at a host community to ferret out Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol and Controlled Substances offenders. Officers conducting a "Roving Patrol" stop any driver suspected of driving under under the influence for any motor vehicle violation. Then, if the driver's behavior warrants it, a blood alcohol test is administered.

Chester Montgomery Emergency Response Team (CMERT)

The Collegeville Police Department is also a member of the Chester Montgomery Emergency Response Team. CMERT is comprised of Police Officers from Collegeville and Pottstown Boroughs, and from West Pottstgrove, Upper Pottsgrove, Lower Pottsgrove, Douglass, New Hanover, Upper Providence, Limerick, North Coventry (Chester County), and Colebrookdale (Berks County) Townships. CMERT provides each participating Department the capability of a specially trained and equipped team of officers to respond to "high risk" incidents. Examples of "high risk" incidents include barricaded persons, hostage situations, and warrant services. CMERT members can serve as crisis negotiators, snipers, entry operators, and tactical paramedics.

Montgomery County Drug Task Force

Six officers of the Collegeville Police Department are members of the Montgomery County Drug Task Force. The Task Force is administered by the Montgomery County District Attorney's Office and is funded through the Pennsylvania Attorney General's Office. Our officers work with Montgomery County Detectives on drug related cases in the Borough and other municipalities when needed.